Categories
Adventure Bees Family Landscapes Napier

November 30, 2015 … from Clive towards the Kaweka Ranges

Yesterday was the day of wedding.

Bottlebrush
A seemingly electric bottlebrush flower with a honey bee lurking within

It dawned fine and clear, and the bottlebrush tree outside the motel window was almost electric in its colouration.  Bees were humming around, and all was well with the world.

Puketapu
Landscape near Puketapu

We weren’t needed for the wedding until 4 pm, so with Mary and her brother Vincent, I drove westward though Taradale, Puketapu, Rissington, Patoka and out to Puketitiri  and the Mohaka river at the foot of the Kaweka Ranges.  The landscapes were a delight all the way, but I had made a major blunder and left the chargers for my camera batteries at home. One of my spare sets of batteries was flat. I had to conserve shots for the wedding reception, so took far fewer images than I would normally consider.

Patoka
Landscape near Patoka

Another panorama was made soon after we passed through Patoka. I love the way the character of the landscape changes so swiftly as you move about our country. From the openness of the Heretaunga plains to the folded landscape of the Kawekas it’s all a wonderful spectacle.

The wedding was a delight, but that’s a family matter.

 

By wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures.

This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.

One reply on “November 30, 2015 … from Clive towards the Kaweka Ranges”

Well done again, Brian. Back to my old stamping grounds!
If you ever have the opportunity, see if you can get hold of a song written by a friend of mine, Alan Downes, about life on the Puketitiri Road. The song is called “A Little Bit of Wild”, or just “Wild”.
There is a Youtube clip at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mT3SP9p2nyI, although the sound quality is not great. A much better recording is on his CD, “Wild”.
Thanks again for bringing back all these memories!
John Titchener

Leave a comment