Categories
Adventure Art Landscapes Light Museum Upper Hutt Weather

June 21, 2015 … midwinter according to the calendar

The worst is yet to come.

Fenwick
Depiction of army surgeon, Lt.Col. Percival Fenwick, who survived the war and went on to pioneer the use of radium and x-rays in New Zealand. Remember that this art work is two and a half times larger than real life. (Art by Weta Workshop)

Bad weather provides an incentive to do indoor things, so yesterday, Mary and I went to the national museum, Te Papa, to see the ANZAC exhibition, “The Scale of Our War“. Mounted by Weta Workshops this is a tribute to the fallen to mark the centenary of the Gallipoli landing. The primary exhibits are a series of models or sculptures two and a half times larger than life, of actual New Zealanders in wartime situations. They are stunning in their execution. Every hair is perfect. Dental records were consulted to ensure the individuals were portrayed accurately. Family members of those shown have attested to the accuracy of the portrayals. My first picture is of the military surgeon, Lt. Col. Percival Fenwick. The scene shows him sitting devastated at the end of a particularly bloody day of surgery.

Le Gallais
Staff Nurse Lottie Le Gallais in a moment of personal grief. Every detail is depicted to perfection by the Weta Workshop people … I can’t even imagine how you go about representing fabrics two and a half times enlarged, but they did it.

There were many very powerful scenes depicted, but among the most moving was that of Staff Nurse Lottie Le Gallais, New Zealand Army Nursing Service, who was on the hospital ship, Maheno. She is shown grieving as she learns that her own brother had been killed. The news was conveyed to her by the brutally honest rubber stamp on the letters she had sent to him: “Killed. Return to Sender”.  Personal note: I have done my best to depict these figures well, but want to acknowledge that the real art, the astonishing skill, is that of the people at Weta Workshops.

Upper Hutt
Eastern Hills behind Upper Hutt in mist and rain

Later in the day, as heavy rain disrupted most main roads in the lower North Island, I wandered about near Upper Hutt looking for the misty shots of clouds wreathed around the hills.

Rimutaka
The Rimutaka landscape looking Eastward from Kaitoke

I went as far as the Plateau at Maymorn and enjoyed the beauty of the mist-shrouded landscape, hoping that there were no trampers in those rugged hills who might need to be rescued.

It was a good day, despite the weather.

By wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures.

This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.

Leave a comment