June 22, 2015 … exploring the South

Looking for a different viewpoint is a constant challenge.

Wharf

Rows of cast steel which are nothing at all like the Rose of Castile

I usually set out  with a very vague idea of where I shall go, and tend to turn towards the conditions of light or circumstances that might make a good image. I began yesterday on the waterfront where an all but disused chunk of railway line was gleaming in the sun. The geometry of rail yards always appeals to me.

Newtown

Faded glory in Newtown

I followed some lesser travelled suburban roads up to the Prince of Wales Park where there were some different perspectives on the housing near Newtown. The big old house stripped of its paint was eye-catching, especially since there seem to be no arrangements to repaint it.

Tapu Teranga

Tapu Teranga in the sun … deceptive because it was very chilly

Down Happy Valley Road to the South coast, I came towards Island Bay from the West. Taputeranga  Island was picked out in the low sunlight.

Fleet

Eye to eye with the fishing fleet at Island Bay

My last shot for the day is in the bay itself., getting down to water level. The fleet was looking smart in the last glow of the day.

That’s the day done

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Maritime, Newtown, Railway, South Coast, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

