August 9, 2014 … filling in time in the wet

It was an expensive day.

Straitsman

Straitsman nears the harbour mouth as seen across the mounted propeller of HMNZS Wellington, sunk offshore as a diving reef.

My mobile phone needed the glass replaced, and my walk-about camera (the 5DII) was in desperate need of a sensor clean. You can buy DIY kits for this purpose, but with my track record, I would not put any object inside the sensor area of a digital camera. Yesterday, therefore, I got by with just one camera, swapping lenses as required. Happily, the other =one is back with a sparkling clean sensor and the 24-105 lens got a complimentary clean thrown in. While I was waiting for the two jobs, I wandered the city and surrounding suburbs. I began on the South coast and liked the juxtaposition of the ferry “Straitsman” over the top of the propeller of the HMNZS Wellington.

Baring Head

From Owhiro Bay looking towards Island Bay and Baring Head

From Owhiro Bay,  the view Eastward was distinctly softened by soft steady rain.

Pt Halswell

Point Halswell light has recently had its paintwork freshened up

Following the coast round through Scorching Bay I came to the Pt Halswell light contrasting nicely against the hills of Wadestown and Khandallah.

City

The City from Pt Halswell

From the point itself, there was a misty view across to the city. I like this view in rain or sunshine.

Perrett's corner

The intersection of Manners St and Willis St with Boulcott St … it was once known as Perrett’s corner … few would now remember why.

I met some of my friends and former colleagues for lunch so went down into the city from the Terrace and enjoyed the colours and textures of the city architecture. At some stage in history the green-tiled building was the headquarters of Telecom NZ Ltd, now renamed “Spark”. Almost any organization that has a headquarters and outlying buildings ends up with a disparaging nickname for head office. This one was referred to as “the kermitage”, presumably due to the green colour.

Law School

The law School in the wet

Downtown near the business school, I liked the contrast between the painted wood of the law School and the dark sky to the East.

That’s enough for today.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Architecture, harbour, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

