Categories
adversity Birds Kapiti Coast Kapiti Island Landscapes Light

July 23, 2013 … light in the gloom

Pffft! It was an uninspired day.

Or to remove any ambiguity, I failed to find inspiration. Famously narrow and difficult, the Akatarawa road delivered no great inspiration. A bridge well to the West of Staglands crossed a small fast flowing stream but the light was a bit leaden. A very slow exposure was the best way I could find to put some life into the image.

A rushing stream somewhere in the Akatarawas
Looking down from a road bridge

At the crest of the hill, overlooking the Tasman Sea, a pair of wood pigeons were relatively unconcerned by my presence though they did move rather ponderously into an adjacent tree.

New Zealand wood pigeons
Handsome but clumsy birds

With daylight fading and traffic increasing, I followed SH1 down to Paekakariki and then up the Paekakariki hill to the lookout at the summit. The sullen clouds added atmosphere to the shot looking up the coast to Paraparaumu and beyond. Kapiti Island sits dark and mysterious off the coast.

Kapiti and the South Taranaki Bight
Down below, the Paekakariki village

Looking Westward, I could see no trace of the south Island, but  the random spray of sunlight added interest.

Sombre clouds pierced by sunlight
Perhaps indicative of enlightenment to come

That’s it for now.

By wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures.

This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.

2 replies on “July 23, 2013 … light in the gloom”

Leave a comment