May 9, 2017 … back home

After the scenic splendour of the last month, coming home and back to earth is a  bit of a come-down.

Chaffers

Just one little wave

Of course I still love Wellington (as do Deutsche Bank’s customers, apparently ) and of course, if there is stillness, and the harbour is on show, then I am there. Last Thursday was such a time. Mary was out collecting for charity (Motor neurone disease) at a basketball game. I mounted my camera low, at the bottom of the centre column on my tripod, and went to the water’s edge in the corner of Chaffer’s Marina. I tried a really long exposure, but preferred this which was quick enough to catch the only wave I saw.

CBD

Wellington City at night

Night had not yet fallen completely, and I was there in what photographers call “the blue hour” after the sun is below the horizon. From Clyde Quay, the glittering lights of the CBD sat like jewels along the base of Te Ahumairangi (formerly know as Tinakori Hill), and it was all reflected in the stillness of the inner harbour.

MFC

Coloured lighting on the Michael Fowler Centre

From the end of Clyde Quay, there was a  view of the Michael Fowler Centre, lit up presumably in preparation for an upcoming carnival of some sort. Silhouetted against the MFC is the old steam tug, Hikitia, and along the top edge, above the crane’s jib, are the lights of Victoria University’s library, the Rankine-Brown building.

Hikitia

The steel-grey balls are part of the ornamental lighting along the public parts of the Wellington waterfront

A few days later, I found myself once more near the Hikitia on Taranaki St Wharf. Getting down low is a pain in the knees, these days. That’s where that trick with the bottom of the tripod comes in handy if I need a  different viewpoint.

Airstream

Streamlined but stationary

Finally this week, my attention was taken by reflections in a coffee stall. It was closed at the time, but this one is regularly on the wharf, based in an Airstream caravan. The brick building is the former home of the head office the State Coal company before it was relocated and is now the home of Circa Theatre.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, harbour, Landscapes, Light, Machinery, Maritime, Reflections, Sunset, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

