March 29, 2017 … stillness in the mist

With the melancholy behind me, let me resume normal service. Thanks to those who sent kind words after the last episode.

Wellington

Bright sun, calm day, clean air reminds me of why I like living here.

In the week gone by, we had a few windless days, and of course I took advantage by going to the water. Sometimes the water itself is the subject, and at other times it serves as a foreground or background. In this case, looking across the harbour from Oriental Bay to Thorndon, a long exposure provides a blue foreground for the railway station, and Victoria University’s Business School.

Turbine

The new wind turbine was ticking over slowly in the light breeze.

Lunch with a friend was the usual excuse for a trip up the hill to Brooklyn where the new larger wind turbine spins merrily against a blue sky.

Climie

Clouds over the ranges behind Upper Hutt

In the last few days we have had a lot of mist. This image is a stitched panorama looking up to Mt Climie behind Upper Hutt. According to my distinguished meteorologist friend what we are seeing here is low cloud in the Wairarapa under an inversion, being pushed over the hill by an Easterly flow. The original image itself was huge (about 129 Megapixels).

Oriental Bay

Unpromising weather for camera club walkabout

Last night our camera club had planned to do a walkabout in the early evening commencing in Oriental Bay. All day the weather was dismal, low cloud, fog, some drizzle and I was unsure whether I would have to exercise presidential authority to call it off. There was a lifting of the cloud around 4 pm so I sent out the “Go” signal. As I drove into town, I was sure I had made the wrong decision because the cloud had descended again. As you can see, he setting sun was peeking under the heavy cloud cover, but at least it wasn’t raining.

Yachts

Over in the Stadium, the All Whites defeated Fiji, 2-0, and we borrowed some of their spilled light

As the evening progressed, I became more and more delighted with the conditions. There was absolute stillness and a soccer game at Westpac stadium provided some excellent lighting for the rest of us.

Hikitia

Hikitia rarely moves these days. It is amazing to know that she travelled to Wellington from her builders in Scotland under her own steam

We meandered along the waterfront, concluding our adventure at a hostelry on Taranaki St Wharf where we enjoyed refreshments and swapped stories. When I left, the conditions were still suitable for more images so I captured the old steam-powered floating crane, Hikitia.

harbour

For me the conditions were a delight

Despite the continuing low cloud, the stillness made photography a joy.

Marina

Living aboard in Chaffers Marina

Walking back towards the car, I went past Chaffers Marina (on the Western side of the former Overseas Passenger Terminal), and was surprised at the number of vessels on which people were obviously living.

And speaking of living, Mary and I set out tomorrow for a month-long tour around the South Island, and consequently, postings to this blog may be erratic in the weeks ahead. Photography will continue.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Adventure, adversity, Camera club, Light, Machinery, Maritime, Sunset, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to March 29, 2017 … stillness in the mist

  1. Nice images. Your third image (entitled “Unpromising weather … ” ) appears to feature Kelvin Helmholz billows at the top of the low cloud behind the CBD. These are like breaking waves, and occur between layers with quite strong wind shear, in this case at the top of a slight inversion which is trapping that low cloud.

    • Thanks Neil, several of us speculated about those billows, though none of us could remember what they were called and they were not as clearly formed as some of the recent occurrences in the local media

  2. Lovely images Brian. And, oh, retirement! Roadtrips are such fun and you will get Autumn colours as well.

Leave a Reply

