March 22, 2017 … looking over my shoulder

I post this edition with a heavy sigh. As a judge in training myself, I must accept the verdict of the panel, but for my part, I still like these images. They were submitted as a portfolio of twelve for the PSNZ Associateship. They were unsuccessful.

The intention was to offer a set of images portraying various aspects of haven or shelter as offered by yachting marinas. The sequence is intended to progress from early morning to late night but with an underlying theme of stillness and shelter.

Protected by the wall

 

 

 

A place of stillness

Breathless

Bon voyage

A tangle of rigging

Under a heavy sky

Washing away the salt

At the end of a lovely day

Touched by gold

Home is the sailor, home from sea

All I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by

The panel said there was no flow, and the images were “too busy”. I suspect that a marina is always intrinsically busy, with masts, spars and rigging. And so I start looking for another theme for next year’s attempt.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Camera club. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to March 22, 2017 … looking over my shoulder

  1. Copper Seed says:

    Absolutely stunning. I’m no photography expert but I spend a lot of time commuting from Pine Harbour Marina and I think the busy nature of the views is part of the charm.

  2. nzvideos says:

    This project aside – my preferences of your shots have usually, but not always, been birds and macro. However, I still appreciate your taking me to one of my favourite parts of the world.

  3. No accounting for judges ๐Ÿ™‚ Hopefully next year ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Peter C says:

    Why I would never bother with photographic ‘judges’: too concerned with fashion and seeking something different. Just look st some of the photographs collected by art galleries!

    Love these photos!

  5. Katie says:

    Though I can see their point, these are nonetheless stunning photos. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. DennisW says:

    Obviously they just don’t “understand.” ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Pam says:

    Well I love your photos, they might not gain prizes but who cares, they give pleasure to me and others and that is the best prize in the world in my books. Keep ’em coming.

  8. kauricatns says:

    I agree with Pam!!!

Leave a Reply

