February 22, 2017 … is it here at last?

Since my last post, summer has mostly continued to elude us, even as some of you in the Northern hemisphere report signs of spring.

Mana

Mana Island as seen from above the waste water treatment plant, Porirua

Whenever there is the slightest hint of a reasonable day, I am out looking for photographic opportunities.  I still like to explore streets in unfamiliar suburbs to see if there is what town planners call a “view-shaft” – a place where there is a clear view of the surrounding landscape from the street. Sadly, they are rare, and all too often, the gap between adjacent houses is obstructed by fences or plantings designed to keep the view exclusively for the owners. This sudden wide view-shaft is in Porirua near Titahi Bay. It looks out onto the blue Tasman Sea and Mana Island. If you get the chance of a trip to the island, take it. It is much more interesting and varied than it looks from the distance.

Terns

White-fronted terns bouncing in the wind

We have had some fierce winds recently, and that often drives the white-fronted terns to seek shelter. These were huddled on the remnants of the old patent slip in Evan’s Bay. The contours of the walkway and various walls provided little relief from the wind, and you can see from their posture that the birds are rocking in the gale.

Willis St

Willis St, Wellington

Another sunny break and I went into town. I had some shopping to do on Willis St, and was attracted to the Hibernian Society’s building on the corner of Bond Street. Perhaps it was aided by the wide angle lens, but it occurred to me that this was a miniature flatiron building.

Kaitaki

Into the blue

Then we had an impossibly perfect day. If you have been part of my journey for a while, you will know that mere sunshine is insufficient. I want flat calm, total stillness. I had just turned onto the Esplanade at Petone and I caught sight of the interisland ferry Kaitahi leaving harbour. The blue of the sky and the blue of the sea were so close as make the ship seem to be floating in space as it passed by the various lights and marker buoys on the way to Picton.

Sandra II

Sandra II preparing for a day’s fishing in the harbour

On Port Road, near the Seaview oil terminal, I found myself keeping pace with the little fishing vessel Sandra II. I have often caught her as part of a still seascape, but she was heading out to work. The pied shag skimming towards her was a bonus.

Beach

Low angle view out of the harbour at Petone Beach

A day later, I came to the beach at the Western end of Petone, and miraculously there was still calm water.

River mist

River mist at sunrise

Three consecutive still mornings has been a rarity lately. This one was accompanied by river mist. The shot is looking North from my bedroom window towards Upper Hutt. On a clear day the Boulcott golf course and the Avalon tower would form part of this view.

Downtown

Downtown

Four from four was a reason for celebration. I wandered around the waterfront  and made yet another attempt at the downtown architecture, choosing a wide angle, and long exposure. The long exposure softened the clouds and stilled the few ripples on the water.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Birds, Landscapes, Maritime, Rivers, sunrise, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to February 22, 2017 … is it here at last?

  1. ruahima says:

    Glad you are enjoying our “Summer”!

    On 22 February 2017 at 10:08, Wysiwygpurple’s Blog wrote:

    > wysiwygpurple posted: “Since my last post, summer has mostly continued to > elude us, even as some of you in the Northern hemisphere report signs of > spring. Whenever there is the slightest hint of a reasonable day, I am out > looking for photographic opportunities. I still ” >

  2. Copper Seed says:

    You can’t beat Welly on a sunny day! Brilliant photos.

  3. DennisW says:

    Especially enjoy “River mist at sunrise.” The view with clouds, mountains and fog in the intervening valleys is one of your “themes” I like the best.

  4. Lydia says:

    I was fascinated by the last photo. You used a “long exposure” to soften the clouds, etc. I am amazed that the people in the photo did not appear to be moving. I expected some sort of double image kind of thing. As you can see, I am NOT a photographer. I suppose the “long” exposure wasn’t VERY long. Or did you have to go back and doctor the people?

    • Lydia, it was a six second exposure and most of the people in view (including a group of school kids walking along the edge of the lagoon) simply disappeared. The remaining ones were either standing still or directly towards or away from the camera

      • Lydia says:

        Ahhhh… that makes sense. Although I am still puzzled – why would the kids disappear? Why not appear as a blurred movement? I guess I need to go read about such things.

  5. Lydia says:

    Brian, I have found an explanation of this result. I see now (or don’t)…:~)

Leave a Reply

