Mana marina

Mana marina – water as I like it

Happy new year to all who persist in reading or viewing this blog. Here in Wellington on the 4th of January, 2017, I still await anything resembling a summer. Often enough I wake and all is still, but I am not fooled. I watch the flax leaves, and soon after sunlight comes, they quiver and begin to oscillate as the lightest of breezes escalates into a near gale and I know that there will be no stillness on the sea. But every now and then, the flax is still. I give it a while and if it persists will then gather my gear and head out to whichever coast is more likely to stay calm the longest according to the forecast. In this case, it was Mana Marina at Paremata

Mana marina

Setting out for a fishing trip from Mana

Days like this have been rare this season, so far. The Marina has been busy, and Mana has a reasonable percentage of people who actually live on their boats, some of which are quite big. It has been nice to see a few of the vessels being loaded up for a summer break in the sounds and then heading out to sea.

Down the coast from Paekakariki Hill

Down the coast from Paekakariki Hill

It was a fantastic morning so I went to Queen Elizabeth Park hoping to find dabchick chicks. Alas, none were found and they are perhaps a couple of weeks away yet. Oh well, I decided to return home via the Paekakariki Hill road with a pause at the lookout near the top. Out to the South West we see Arapawa Island and other features of the Marlborough Sounds across an unusually flat Cook Strait. It’s a long way down to the coast road below.

Coastguard

Spirit of Wellington on a damp grey day

Since then the weather has been grey, often windy and sometimes wet. Yesterday was grey and wet, but relatively calm so I tried the Evans Bay Marina. There I found the Coastguard vessel “Spirit of Wellington” being prepared for a training day. I got low and with the water so calm, the camera was within a few centimetres of the surface.

Again, happy New Year to all.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Cook Strait, Evans Bay, harbour, Landscapes, Maritime, Paremata, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. And a Happy New Year to you also.

  2. Jo says:

    And a Big Happy New Year to you Brian!

Leave a Reply

