December 28, 2016 … aimless wandering

Wai Aniwa

Wai Aniwa – once a world champion

After settling back in  from our trip to Waiheke, I have tried to get back into some sort of photographic rhythm, with marginal success. I am still working on my marina-based project, but the weather has not only been unkind, but downright cruel. The wind has been almost unrelenting, so in a brief period of calm I made my way to the marina, but saw little that was new. You can rarely go wrong with a splash of red so I went to the pier where I found Wai Aniwa. Last time I saw her she was in the basin at Oriental Bay. This cup was a world champion way back in 1972, racing in the One Ton Cup, which was held in Sydney that year. Skippered by Chris Bouzaid, she won and was briefly the talk of the nation, long before we dreamed that America’s Cup  could ever leave America.

Mantis

Orchid Mantis … this model is about a metre across

Later that week, our Son Anthony and grandchildren Maggie (whose 12th birthday is today) and Cooper invited me to accompany them to “The Bug Lab”, an exhibition at Te Papa put on by Weta Workshops. It is about some interesting and exotic aspects of various insects, and as is often the case with Weta, involves hyper-real models scaled up to several times life-size.

Dragonfly

The dragonfly exhibit was rotating under strobe lights and was astonishingly realistic as a simulation of the dragonfly’s darting flight

Of course, with school summer holidays just started the place was absolutely buzzing even with the insects. It was an interesting exhibition and I always love time with the grandchildren.

Ovation

Fascinating in its own way, but my worst nightmare – the Ovation of the Seas

A few days before Christmas, the cruise-liner, Ovation of the Seas visited Wellington. The weather was a surly grey with a bitter wind and intermittent rain. All of  the worst stereotypes of Wellington confirmed for 4,900 passengers. She is the biggest vessel ever to have visited New Zealand and for that reason I made an attempt to record the event, bu was not particularly impressed with the resulting image, but she was here.

Flowers

Christmas flowers

Christmas was quiet for us, though the local family came for breakfast, and we had friends around for Dinner.  In the quiet part of the day I recorded a bouquet received from our family in Brisbane.

Tui

Tui and the flax flowers

I think I said recently that with the flowering of the flax we are absolutely saturated with the Tui which is here gathering the nectar, and the more it gets, the less fear it seems to have.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Children, Family, Festivals and fairs, flowers, harbour, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

