October 19, 2016 … persistent hostile weather

Earlier in the year, I was ecstatic to experience a prolonged period of calm. Now we are paying for it with seemingly never-ending wind. Ugly blustery wind, gusting to around 50 km/h.

Goose

Canada Goose at QEII park

Late last week I went back to Queen Elizabeth park to see whether the dabchicks had produced any offspring. Again, none were visible, though two pairs of adults were cruising about. Despite my grumbles about the wind, parts of the wetland are nicely sheltered and I liked the contrast between the green weeds and the Canada goose on the still patch of water.

Tram

Tram no 151 was manufactured in 1928.

While I was there, I heard an odd rumbling noise and was pleased to see one of the tramway museum’s trams trundling along. It was an unlikely combination of photographic genres.

Dotterel

Some birds hop, others run. The dotterel is definitely a runner.

Over the weekend, and yesterday, I followed the road through Wainuiomata to the south Coast, and to my great delight encountered some pretty banded dotterels. There is a large fenced off area designed to protect the nesting area. However, beauty is not matched by brains and many of the birds have made their shallow nesting scrapes outside the fence. If you get close to a nest, you hear a shrill indignant cheeping and see rapidly moving birds trying to lure you way from their nest.

Halswell

The Pt Halswell light is at the Northern end of the Miramar Peninsula. From here, there is a nice view up the valley

This morning I went looking for some weather shots in Evans Bay. I tried long exposures with neutral density filters, I learned the hard way, that even with a heavy tripod, long exposures with shuddering wind gusts result in blurry pictures. Some thought required. This shot at Point Halswell  is without the ND filter and aims to capture the cloud formations accompanying that mean-spirited Northerly.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, Evans Bay, Landscapes, Machinery, Waves, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October 19, 2016 … persistent hostile weather

  1. Dennis W says:

    Enjoy your photo blog very much. The composition of the Pt Halswell light is especially nice.

Leave a Reply

