October 12, 2016 – seasonal transitions

Our city has a reputation for the speed at which its atmosphere moves past. It’s citizens get defensive, and some are even in denial. However, for a week now, the harbour and other bodies of water have ranged from ruffled to tempestuous.

Cherry blossoms

Cherry blossoms in Lower Hutt

But let’s start at the beginning. The annual exhibition of the Hutt Camera Club ended on Sunday, but prior to that I spent time at the desk, welcoming visitors and answering questions. At the end of my shift, I went across the road to the Cherry Blossom walk in Riddiford gardens. They are performing beautifully.

Arrival

Grace greets her Gran while Mum does the heavy pushing

On Friday, our daughter-in-law Rowena and our granddaughter Grace flew in from Brisbane to see the World of Wearable Art show. Before they moved to Australia, Grace was a frequent visitor. Sadly, trips are much less frequent than they used to be and much more valued. Our mischievous little imp has become a tall beautiful young woman who has to bend over a long way to give her Gran a hug, and Gran has to stand on tip toes to receive it. It was a delight to have them both stay with us, and now they have gone again.

Evans bay

Evans bay in a Northerly

This morning I wandered looking for my insights the blustery weather might give. I drove around Miramar Peninsula beginning at Evan’s Bay. The wind was lifting sheets of water and slapping waves into the oil wharf.

Breaker Bay

Breaker Bay gusts

Around the peninsula at Breaker Bay, the spiteful nature of the wind was evidenced by the great curtains of spray blowing out near the harbour entrance. The growl of jet engines alerted me to an Airbus A320 climbing out after an aborted approach to the airport. This was a seriously gusty day.

Kaiarahi

Kaiarahi inbound from Picton

Near Moa Point, I saw the ferry Kaiarahi on the horizon With the wind on her beam, I am guessing it was a lively crossing for her passengers. More howling overhead indicated another captain slamming the throttles wide open to abort the landing of a Q300 turboprop from Nelson. I hope for a quick return to calmer days.

Blossoms

Cherry Blossom riot

If nothing else it might keep the cherry blossoms around for longer.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Airport, Aviation, Camera club, Cook Strait, Family, flowers, Landscapes, Maritime, Seasons, Waves, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to October 12, 2016 – seasonal transitions

  1. Dennis W says:

    I find any Spring (love the cherry blossoms) more desirable than any Fall. My wife doesn’t necessarily agree, but that’s OK.

  2. It is so rewarding being a grandparent. Still enjoy your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

