September 21, 2016 … here and there, this and that

It has been an ordinary week, mostly characterized by drab, chilly and often drizzly weather.

Mist

Misty morning at Petone

I don’t mind such soft grey weather as it often presents attractive views. At Petone wharf, for example, the view across the almost flat harbour is quite different with the Miramar Peninsula disappearing in the cloud.

Bypass

On the inner city bypass

Later in the week, I went into the city to walk the route of the World Wide Photowalk which I shall be leading again on Saturday October 1. I need to take into account that some walkers may be even less fit than I am so I must make sure that my chosen route is unlikely to kill anyone. We are walking in Te Aro and the first thing that caught my eye was the renovated houses near the cross-town bypass. I had to wait a few moments to avoid traffic in the way.

Cuba St

Strait down Cuba Street to the Michael Fowler Centre

Some fairly ordinary streets look different when seen from a place where I don’t always go. Cuba Street is always interesting to my eye.

Pukeahu

Pukeahu War Memorial

A little further across the town, I came to  the Pukeahu war memorial park, and from the base of the Carillon, got a slightly different view to ones I have used before.The Australian installation is attractive in an odd way.

Glass

Tulips in full bloom

On Monday, I was in town looking to see if the tulips were in flower. They were, but before I got there, I paused for a coffee to ward off the damp chill. Tulips of another kind made an attractive image as they hung on their rack.

Jervois Quay

Angles and textures

Across Jervois Quay, the shapes and angles of buildings  caught my eye. The two  hexagonal towers in the foreground hold a special place for me, since way back in 1980, I was the first occupant of a space with a splendid view across the harbour.

Camellia

White camellia

Yesterday, I went looking for other flowers and though it was a bit early for the Rhododendrons at the Belmont domain, there were some nice Camellias in the Riddiford Gardens. The new system whereby my computer reminds me that the blog is due seems to be walking.

 

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Botanic gardens, flowers, Light, Lower Hutt, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to September 21, 2016 … here and there, this and that

  1. Have just read that tulips came from Turkey

  2. Adam Rosner says:

    I like “Angles and Textures” a lot Brian. Of course I’d monochrome it in a heartbeat but that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

