Thursday 8 September, 2016 – perverse nature

So much for the automated reminder for a weekly Wednesday edition. Of course I have an excuse, but I won’t waste your time with it.

Marina (1)

Are you beginning to see a pattern to my plan B yet?

I had a project in mind for a photographic qualification. It depended on there being some dramatic winter storms and big waves. This winter it just didn’t eventuate, so I have activated a “plan B”, and by now you will recognise the Seaview Marina as the place where it is mostly located. On one of the recent “non-storm” days, I went down there as the day came to a blissful end.

Marina (2)

Reflections on still water may be a cliché, but I like trying to do them justice

I used my newest ND filter to ensure still waters as the last of the daylight was disappearing.

In line

Waiting patiently for access to the food, common house sparrows and a waxeye

Then there were a few rainy days, so I set my camera up in its rain jacket and controlled it wirelessly from my iPad. Mary likes to feed the local birds, sparrows, finches, waxeyes and the like.

Waxeye

A waxeye seeks a higher perch to assess the chance of getting into the food

I was grateful to avoid the weather from the warmth and comfort of our lounge.

Waverley

Heavy surf and sand blasted at about 100 km/h

Today (Thursday), Mary and I have driven to New Plymouth. Of course this was the day Wellington chose to deliver swells estimated at seven metres to the South Coast. Accommodation had been booked and a deferral was impossible, so I grabbed a few shots on the way up. The first was at Waverley Beach, where a tumbling surf, diatomaceous foam and wind-blown sand made photography close to impossible.

Patea

Mouth of the Patea River in a storm

We broke our journey for lunch at a clifftop lookout in Patea. As I munched my pie, I watched as the incoming rollers overwhelmed the moles on either side of the mouth of the Patea river. In calm weather, people clamber out along the moles and fish. It would be a fatal mistake today.

More next week, hopefully on Wednesday.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Adventure, adversity, Birds, Maritime, New Plymouth, Reflections, Sunset, Taranaki, Waves, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thursday 8 September, 2016 – perverse nature

  1. brent says:

    great photos and weather report

  2. nzvideos says:

    Thanks Brian for increasing my vocabulary. I did not know that a breakwater is also a mole. Old dogs can learn something new. So now I know there are five meanings for mole, all pronounced the same. You may be a retired academic, but still teaching.

Leave a Reply

