August 31, 2016 … time for another change

Oh my goodness! I am embarrassed that I let more than two weeks slide by without posting, and I am now determined to get back on a regular schedule of publication. I aim to publish weekly on Wednesdays hereafter. However, to catch up, there are thirteen images today. I hope you like them.

Mist

Light and mist in the Hutt Valley in the early morning

Meanwhile, I have been out there enjoying myself enormously with the camera. While I am the staunchest defender of Wellington, it does have a slight reputation for occasionally elevated levels of breeziness.  Well for almost two weeks now, there has been no significant wind, and for days on end, the sea has been flat calm. I know that, regardless of early cloud, it’s going to be a good day when it starts with slowly drifting mist in the upper valley.

Marina

Stillness in the marina

If you have been with me for more than a month or two, you know that I am a sucker for mirror-calm water. This has made the local marina almost a second home in recent weeks.

Calm

Sustained calm is very much to my liking

No matter how often I go, I seem to find a new angle, and I loved the simplicity of the Southern part of the enclosed area.

Tugs

Toia and Tapuhi scuttle back to their city base

The tanker in the preceding image departed a few minutes later and as I was driving along the esplanade I saw the port’s two tugs bustling (why do tugs always “bustle”?) back  towards their base. Note that we are seeing them across the broad expanse of the harbour, and note that the water is flat.

reflections

city architecture reflected in the harbour

Some days later, I was wandering on a wharf near the operating base of the tugs and pilot boats, when my attention was again caught by the surface of the water in the basin. The NZ Post Headquarters building was interestingly reflected in the slow syrupy slop.

rings

A recent extension to the marina still has the bright colour on the buffer rings around the piles

Back at Seaview, I was looking for images to be part of a new project so the continued stillness was a joy.

berthing

Ghosting home

A yacht returning to base under power created scarcely a ripple as she approached her berth, and the low cloud in the background obscured the Western hills, adding to the nice mood of the image.

magnolia

New season magnolia

I am soon to lead a photographic walkabout in Wellington, and was walking around the route when I spotted a lovely magnolia tree showing off. Magnolias almost always have inconvenient branches that impede a clear view of those lovely flowers. I was forced to overcome my fear of heights and to climb up on a precarious perch to get a clear view.

Steam

The gentle hiss of steam building up, and the occasional slap pf the boiler pump

A few days ago, Mary and I chose to drive up to see if the dabchicks at Queen Elizabeth Park.  At the approach to Paekakariki, an unmistakable plume of smoke suggested that one of the steam locomotives there was being fired up. Sure enough, the mighty Ja1271 was being readied for its annual boiler test, prior to running the Daffodil Express to Carterton on September 11, a few weeks from now.

Ja1271

Ja1271 in all her splendour

I have never hidden my geekiness, and I love engineering in all its forms. The latter days of steam are particularly interesting to me, and the Ja class locomotives are a fine example of the  era.

dabchick

Dabchick in hiding

Moving on to the wetlands at QEII park, my hopes or chicks were not realised. However, there was a dabchick lurking under some overhanging flax and clearly trying to avoid discovery, so I shall visit again in the near future.

Fantail

Fantail

Mary and I enjoyed a stroll around the wetlands loop and heard a huge variety of birdsong. Most things moved too quickly for me, but one small fantail obliged with a pose on a nearby branch.

Sailing

Sail experience inside the breakwater

My last piece of overcompensation in this extended issue is back at Seaview Marina where, from time to time, a group called “Sailability” provide sail training or perhaps just the enjoyment of sailing to people with different abilities. The marina seemed flat calm, but there was sufficient light air to fill the sails and move the brightly coloured yachts around.

Clearly the ad hoc approach to publishing doesn’t work for me, so I have set up a reminder to publish each Wednesday until further notice.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Birds, flowers, Landscapes, Machinery, Maritime, Paekakariki, Railway, Reflections, sunrise, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to August 31, 2016 … time for another change

  1. John Titchener says:

    Welcome back, Brian! I have missed your images, and your entertaining commentaries. I will look forward to catching up on future Wednesdays. – John

  2. nzvideos says:

    Of course I am not telling you what to do with your blog page, but within your “About wysiwygpurple” you might want to change “daily” and “day” to weekly and week?
    Thank you for sharing your images for all of us to enjoy.

  3. nzphotog says:

    Love the reflections – great set of images

  4. Esp like the reflections of the building.

  5. Dennis W says:

    Most especially enjoyed “Light and mist in the Hutt Valley in the early morning.” The building reflection was also very fine. Your photo blog and commentary make a compelling reason for another visit to NZ.

  6. Lydia says:

    The “sail experience”, once clicked on and enlarged, is AWESOME!!!! The reflections and jagged water movement are beautiful. Thank you for coming back.

Leave a Reply

