June 25, 2016 … an eclectic mix

Since I last wrote, I have spent a lot of time at the Hikoikoi reserve as I do whenever George (our annual resident white heron) is present. He seems to have made a derelict boat his home for the last three or four years at least.

George

George on a slow fly by

If you wait patiently and still on the breakwater nearby, he will show himself. Occasionally, if you are really lucky, he will launch himself and do a low slow flight around the basin, to arrive back near his launch point. In this case, I didn’t get him fully in my viewfinder until he was three-quarters of the way round his circuit.

Crane

A heavy lifter. The size is revealed by the man standing on its crawler treads.

When I stood up after my session observing George, my eye was caught by a huge crawler crane in the colours of the local Titan Cranes. I diverted past the crane on my way home an indulged my small-boy love of big machines by stopping for a few shots. This particular monster is a Liebherr LR1400/2 capable of lifts up to 400 Tonnes. It has recently been involved in lifting bridge members for the new Kapiti Coast expressway, and is being reconfigured for work at Wellington Airport.

Rainbow

Rainbow disappearing rapidly

My next image was a few days later from Petone foreshore after a night of heavy rain. The rainbow caused me to stop for the shot.

Marina

Chaffers marina

Later that day I had lunch with a friend in town who is also a photographer , so we walked around Chaffers Marina. I was attracted to the fresh rain-washed colours and textures of the city behind the masts and rigging of the yachts.

Tanks

Tanks in alignment

Yesterday I was wandering in the Seaview area and liked the shape and textures of the tanks in the oil terminal.

Seaview

A near perfect day

Coming back the other way, and a beautiful Wellington Winter day, I paused to construct a nine shot panorama stitch on the road around Pt Howard, beside the oil and chemical pipes that transfer essential cargoes from the ship at the wharf to the tank farm nearby.

reflections

Inside the breakwater at Hikoikoi

From there it was back to the estuary where George chose not to reveal himself. The trip wasn’t wasted, though as I caught some nice reflections.

Sandra II

Sandra II at her mooring

The quality of the day is revealed in this shot of recent arrival, Sandra II at her mooring inside the breakwater.

Monarch

A well-travelled monarch butterfly

Then my phone rang, and it was Mary letting me know that there was a mini-swarming event among the monarch butterflies at Te Omanga Hospice. Overall it was a very rewarding day.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Butterflies, Hutt River, Industrial, Landscapes, Machinery, Reflections, Seaview, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to June 25, 2016 … an eclectic mix

  1. gcberger says:

    Hi Brian,
    Some really nice shots, and especially the panorama. Wish you could send us some of that cool weather, as we’re in the 90s F with humidity to match some days.

Leave a Reply

