June 17, 2016 … well seasoned

In this part of the world, we are just four days from the shortest day. Then follows the long climb back to warmer seasons. By the calendar we are firmly in Winter (June through August). Nevertheless, the unusually warm year has delivered a lingering tinge of Autumn.

Maple

Maple’s last defiant show of the season

In our front yard, a Japanese maple has been flaunting its stunning colour as if powered by batteries.

Leaves

And then there were two

A bout of heavy rain and strong wind caused a sudden dumping of its remaining leaves and in the space of two days its branches are suddenly bare.

Paint

Fresh paint job

I am not sure if I have mentioned that I have a project in mind by which to submit a portfolio in pursuit of the Photographic Society of New Zealand’s associateship qualification. I don’t intend to reveal the specifics until I have a portfolio to submit, but in the mean time I have been prowling various places looking for images that match my vision. In Lyall Bay I found these garage doors on either side of a letterbox.

Colonnade

Civic colonnade

 

In the city, the colonnade outside the city council’s office provided a nice view.

George

Welcome back, George. I am not sure why a dear skull is part of this scene

Yesterday the wandering continued, and to my great delight, I found that my old friend “George” was back at the Hutt River estuary. At first I couldn’t see him, but he eventually peered over the cockpit coaming of his favourite boat. Soon he resumed his measured pacing around its deck.

Colour

Whiteman’s valley colour

Whiteman’s Valley is another place where autumn colours linger long after their allotted time.

Marina

Seaview Sunset

My photographic day ended when I had to drop my granddaughter Maggie at the gym where her cheerleaders squad practise. From there it is a short drive to the Seaview marina where the last light of the day continued to deliver autumnal shades.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Family, Light, Maritime, Weather, Whiteman's Valley. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to June 17, 2016 … well seasoned

  1. atwistedpair says:

    Interesting to see what your photographic eye tunes in to.

  2. All the best in your quest to drop the “L” plate 🙂 I am still undecided on a theme.

Leave a Reply

