May 16, 2016 … one foot after the other

There is much going on in my head. There are competitions to prepare for, and a portfolio to create. The weather has turned mean after a prolonged summer, but I keep trying.

Tarakena

From Tarakena Bay across the strait to the Kaikouras

Earlier in the week, I spent a little time on the South coast in Tarakena Bay where there was a view across the grey waters of the Strait.

Wreck

Mysterious wreck, parked in the bush 21 km from the coast

Yesterday, I wandered around the Ian Poole Reserve in Wainuiomata, and in a patch of bush was astonished to find a quite large vessel that had been there long enough for trees to grow up between it and the access road.

Toetoe

It was a mean wind

From there, I went South down the coast road where the greyness was absolute, so I focused on the toetoe whipping around in the vicious wind.

Wallaceville

The Upper Valley from the ridge at Wallaceville

This morning, I passed through Upper Hutt over the hill at Wallaceville. From there the view back towards Emerald Hill and beyond to the Southern foothills of the Tararuas was enhanced by the crepuscular rays sneaking through the crowds.

Whiteman's Valley

This little stream had no name that I could find, but it flows into the Mangaroa River

Over the ridge in Whiteman’s Valley, I found a stream that seemed worth a look.

And that’s all I have this time.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Cook Strait, Landscapes, Light, Upper Hutt, Whiteman's Valley. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

