February 9, 2016 … “mem’ry has painted this perfect day”*

Conscious of elapsed time, I deliberately set out to make images yesterday.

Swans

“Squadron will proceed in line astern”

Since there was little wind, I began at Pauatahanui, but saw nothing to ignite the flame. A flock of black swans sailing in line astern were worth a try, but didn’t really make it.

Hutt River

Glittering on the river

Perhaps the Hutt River near Silverstream would offer something. Tumbling water and a long exposure against the glare of the sun wasn’t it either.

Marina

Sunset at a favourite place

Watching the cricket on television after dinner, I glanced out the window and knew that something might eventuate. Seaview Marina has been fruitful before, so perhaps in combination with the setting sun, I could get something.

Seaview

Near perfect stillness at the marina

I tried many angles and many points of view, and as often as I thought that it was time to go, the light would change and the colour would intensify.

Sunset

Ignition

 

From the Southern end of Lowry Bay, as the sun descended behind the Miramar Peninsula, it painted the clouds spectacular colours.

Seaview

Across the marina breakwater and the Point Howard wharf, to Miramar

I packed up the camera and tripod at least six times, and  five times, I set it all back up again as some new saturation of colour hit me.  Perhaps I haven’t done justice to what I saw, but for me, it was a magic hour as the lingering sunset concluded a perfect day.

I had a good day, and the cricket result made it all the sweeter.

*”When you come to the end of a perfect day” by Carrie Jacobs-Bond

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, harbour, Landscapes, Light, Maritime, night, Rivers, Sunset, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to February 9, 2016 … “mem’ry has painted this perfect day”*

  1. Lawrence Herzog says:

    Oh, I so love those times when you think, “Well, that’s it, I’m done,” and then you take a last look and go, “No, I guess I’m not,” and so re-extend the tripod and shoot some more. That changing, lingering light tugs on me, and it’s so hard not to give in and return for “just one more.”

  2. Your usual superb marina sunsets

  3. John Beveridge says:

    Hi Bryan, I have been getting your blog for the past number years and enjoyed many of the photographs of the region. I grew up in Lower Hutt on Leary Street and then we moved to Park Road Belmont around 1940. I emigrated to Canada in 1959 to marry a Canadian girl and we visited NZ & Aust. many times but the last time was 2006. My wife passed away in 2014 and I am contemplation a visit to NZ & Aust. in April of this year. Since I will be in Lower Hutt during this visit I thought it might be interesting to visit you if that might be possible. I am aware that you live on the Normandale Road in Lower Hutt. I also have friends and relatives in Lower Hutt too. Sincerely John Beveridge Ottawa Ont Canada

Leave a Reply

