January 15, 2016 … confessions of a recovering obsessive

It has been easier than I thought.

pohutukawa (1)

Getting close to the pohutukawa blossom

On the other hand, though I no longer have the daily photograph imperative, I am rarely far from my cameras. I have yet to achieve the purposeful project-oriented photography that I envisaged, but these things take time. Today’s ferociously battering winds are likely to bring to an end the season of the pohutukawa in Wellington, so let’s begin there.

Pohutukawa (2)

The arrival is explosive and I wanted to represent the suddenness of its flowering

New Zealanders take great pride in their native “Christmas tree”, though its flowering season is all too brief. It is odd that on the 18th of December, the foliage on Jervois Quay  was its usual  drab green self, and then on the 19th, someone flipped the switch. Crimson flowers were everywhere. The annual arrival of these treasured flowers is an explosive thing so I played with that idea.

Pohutukawa (3)

An ugly wind shakes the stamens loose

Sadly, the departure of the flowering season is usually equally sudden, and is often brought about by the mean-spirited wind that shakes the stamens loose to create red snow-drifts in the gutters, on the footpaths, and on the paintwork of cars parked near them.

Bee

The heavy bumble bee seems to like the blue flowers

What else have I been doing? Trying to regain some of the gains I made a few years ago by walking more, and eating less. The walking doesn’t come naturally to me, and blustery winds of which we have had far more than our share, are a further deterrent. When I do get out, I have the camera with me and take whatever opportunities arrive. Just a little up Normandale rd from home, this bumble bee (Bombus terrestris) was exploring the blue flowers of what I think is Viper’s Bugloss (Echium vulgare).

Shelly Bay

Shelly bay from near Mt Crawford

Of course, if I have to be somewhere for social reasons, I take that chance too, and this I found myself on Miramar above Shelly Bay to capture a different view of the decaying jetties below.

Evans bay

Character oat sheds in Evans bay

Across the bay from the same viewpoint, the boatsheds of Evans bay  make an interesting target. The lurid green, yellow and red shed on the right is often photographed for the spectacular reflections it offers when the water is still.

Herons

Together in the reeds at Pauatahanui

The wind stopped briefly yesterday afternoon, so instead of taking the opportunity for a walk, I drove to Pauatahanui where I encountered a pair of white-faced herons in their breeding plumage  with long feathers on their backs and the pink-brown breast colouring.

As you can see, things are moving more slowly, but I still enjoy it.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Birds, Evans Bay, flowers, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

