January 1, 2016 … Happy New Year

This is not my last blog entry.

It is merely the last of the entries based on the self-imposed discipline of a photo a day. That has been a splendid misnomer too. Last year, for example, I made 10,555 images, or an average of 36 a day. Of course most of them were, at best, mediocre, but they gave me sufficient that I could hope for some reasonable shots to place before you. They helped me to learn why I liked some shots more than others. It has been a useful learning experience, including the late-dawning realisation that the obligation to make a photo at any cost did not necessarily result in better images. Anyway, let’s get the last of the old regime out of the way.

Newtown

Newtown suburbia

Yesterday was New Year’s Eve, and I wandered around Wellington which seemed an appropriate way to conclude the original project. In case you had wondered, I love my city, and have been privileged to explore many of its lesser known corners, so it seemed a good way to bring the project to its end. I decided to look for the textures of the city from places I had not used often before. The first shot is from Hutchison Rd, just above what I once knew as the “winter show grounds”. As I understand it, it is now the New Zealand School of Dance. The (former) church in the left middle ground was St James Presbyterian Church on Adelaide Rd, and I speculate that the red roof next to it was probably the church hall. On the left edge, near the town belt, the two identical grey roofs are part of the Mary Potter Hospice.

Mt Vic

The lower slopes of Mt Victoria with Newtown in the foreground

Finnimore Terrace is a quirky little street just a little further up the road. An exposed knoll at the top overlooks McAllister Park and gives some nice viewpoints of the city from the South. For orientation purposes the church on the skyline to the right is part of the landmark St Gerard’s Monastery that overlooks Oriental Bay. The glorious pohutukawa in the foreground will forever mark this image as a December shot.

Te Aro

Basin Reserve, Cambridge and Kent Terraces

From the same knoll, the view to the North looks across the manicured green of the Basin Reserve and straight down the surprisingly leafy lines of Kent and Cambridge Terraces. They look far more industrial at ground level. As the poet observed, “‘Tis distance lends enchantment to the view”*My final shot in the series is also of Newtown from Finnimore Terrace. Again, for orientation, the curved roof in the right foreground is St Anne’s Catholic Church. The distinctive rooflines of Mary Potter Hospice are towards the upper left with Mein St in the top left corner.

Newtown (2)

A closer look at Newtown

So where to from here?  WordPress tells me that in the last year the blog had 26,000 visits which  is gratifying. I shall probably post at least once a week, but the images may be less geographic in nature than they have been thus far. There will still be landscapes and birds as the mood takes me, but my picture making will be more mindful and definitely not every day. I hope you will continue to keep me company as and when I post. Thank you all for your support and encouragement, and the warmest wishes to you all for a happy, healthy and safe new year.

Brian

The Pleasures of Hope by Thomas Campbell

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Newtown, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to January 1, 2016 … Happy New Year

  1. Peter C says:

    Congratulations on completing a mammoth undertaking! There’s probably no way to know, but I wonder if any other photographer has ever matched your achievement?

    Of course not every photo can be a masterpiece, but I would suggest you are being far too modest in saying that ‘most of them were, at best, mediocre’. In fact, you achieved a remarkably high standard – you would put almost all of us to shame.

    We look forward to the coming posts on a more occasional basis.

    Best wishes for 2016.

  2. Katie says:

    I have been thrilled to visit New Zealand through your eyes. I’m looking forward to the next chapter. Happy New Year! 🙂

  3. I shall miss my daily visits to your page, So often you have been to the same places that my husband and I have explored on our relaxed bike rides around Wellington. I’ll look forward to the weekly postings now. Many thanks for the considerable pleasure I have had from seeing your photos. Happy New Year!

  4. brent says:

    happy new year brian ,will miss your daily blog quite an achievement ,look forward to other blogs you may post.

  5. Mike Leahy says:

    Farnham,
    Surrey

    Dear Brian,

    Congratulations on completing your mammoth task and thank you very very much. It was an enormous undertaking and I am sure you must be very satisfied that you made it.

    I have enjoyed the views around New Zealand very much and particularly Wellington. I still remember the first time I saw it in 1953. After 5 1/2 weeks at sea we anchored in the harbour and could not go ashore until the immigration officers came on board the next day. I wanted to walk in a straight line instead of around and around the deck and to see something green and there was plenty of that.

    On the last offering with views of Newtown I did live there for a while in Austin Street. It has certainly been cleaned up a lot since then. It is about five years since I last visited Wellington and I would like to make yet another “last” trip to NZ if I have not got too old to do it. If I do I would love to have another lunch with you.

    Again thank you and Best wishes for 2016

    Mike Leahy

Leave a Reply

