December 31, 2015 … new high places

One more in the daily series after this.

Duck

Duck hoping for food on Dead Man’s Bend in Sladden Park

Despite a gloomy forecast, yesterday continued the string of great days. I began my journey at “Dead Man’s Bend” on the Hutt River. More important to me than clear skies is calm water. I have a good friend who prefers photographic grit to pictorialism, but for my part I prefer scenic beauty wherever I can find it.

Hikoikoi

The tide is very high, almost over the jetty. I have no idea what the fibrous mat in the foreground is.

With the river in this state, perhaps Hikoikoi would be interesting. In a way, it was, but with the very high tide, there was a lot of floating fibrous material and driftwood. Nevertheless, the scene appealed to me.

Staritsman

Straitsman passes Pencarrow. Baring Head is just out of frame to the right

Then I went looking for a new point of view near the Wellington Harbour Signal Station on the hill above Breaker Bay. This brought me onto a section of the Southern Walkway which stretches from Oriental Bay in the city to the Ataturk Memorial above Tarakena Bay on the South Coast.  The path follows the Eastern side of the hill but the view is often obscured by shrubs and trees, so I was pleased to find a gap. The ferry Straitsman was coming in, so I had to scramble to set up the tripod before it passed out of the gap.

Bays

The bays at the mouth of the harbour

Just around the corner was a view to the South. I drive that road quite frequently, but like most Wellingtonians, tend to treat the whole area as part of Breaker Bay. In fact the image shows Eve Bay,  Flax Bay, Reef Bay and Palmer Bay culminating in Palmer Head . Tarakena Bay is around the corner.  As the image shows, the growth on these slopes contains a high proportion of gorse and other unfriendly trees.

Mystique

Mystique passes close to the rocks

By now it was time for lunch, so I got something in Miramar and then went to the park on Houghton Bay on the South Coast. I watched the small fishing vessel Mystique come racing up from the East. As far as I can discover, she is based at Kaikoura so she is a long way from home. Nevertheless, her skipper was very confident, travelling at some speed very close to those savage rocks.

Sparrow

Sparrows in the flax by the beach

As I enjoyed my lunch, I was kept company by many small passerines flitting in and out of the low scrub and long grass by the seashore. A pleasant way to spend the day.

And it’s still fine, so I am off to shoot the last daily shots which have been uninterrupted for five years. I am NOT giving up photography or blogging, I am just not doing it EVERY day after this.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Maritime, Reflections, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to December 31, 2015 … new high places

  1. Congratulations on your uninterrupted 5 years. It has been something I looked forward to every day, not only for the images but for the information provided. So pleased you are not giving it up entirely. 🙂

  2. Rosalie says:

    Thank you Brian for your 5 years of images.
    For me they provided a connection back to Wellington, where i enjoyed living for 8 years. Well done!

  3. nzvideos says:

    Thank you Brian for your five year commitment. I doubt I could have done it. I am sure that I will continue to enjoy whatever you are able to provide for us in the future. Cheers.

  4. I too have enjoyed your daily blogs and will miss them very much. A daily taste of home.
    Thanks very much. Sally Wallis in Canada.

  5. Lawrence Herzog says:

    I, too, have appreciated your words and images posted every day over the last five years. It gives me pleasure to hear you be continuing to post as your muse dictates. Happy New Year!

  6. gcberger says:

    Dear Brian,
    Thank you for those five years of Sterling effort – – and may the next five years be as fruitful.
    My wish for your New Year was my Pat’s favorite: ” Lang may yer lum reek.”
    Give Mary a big hug.

    George

Leave a Reply

