December 29, 2015 … a family outing

Our run of extraordinarily fine weather continues.

Soccer

Our grandsons Isaac and Cooper (centre) paying soccer in Williams Park

We used it yesterday for lunch on the grass at Williams Park, Days Bay.  It was also the occasion of granddaughter Grace’s Maggie’s eleventh birthday. While the adults (OK, the ladies) were setting up lunch, the youngsters raced around the park playing soccer. The skills these youngsters displayed was quite impressive.  Lunch was relaxed and delicious.

Isaac

Once he became accustomed to the water temperature, Isaac kept jumping in.

A little while later, those who were dressed for the occasion went swimming. Our grandchildren Grace and Isaac live in Queensland so there was initially a sharp intake of breath as they felt the chill of Wellington Harbour, but once they got going there was no stopping them.

Ants

Crazy uncle Ants leaps from the upper position as his daughter Billie Maggie and niece Grace watch on

They were encouraged in their daring by their uncle Anthony (Ants) who seems to know no fear. They all took turns at diving or jumping from the platform erected for the purpose by the local council.

Days Bay ferry

Another ferry-load of passengers pour into the bay.

Day’s Bay was busier than I’ve ever seen it, and the ferry from the city kept bringing more people.

pontoon

The family rest on the pontoon before making the return swim to the beach

The youngsters swam from the wharf out to a diving pontoon, accompanied by  Ants to make sure no-one got into difficulty. After a rest on the pontoon, they returned to the park to resume the games.

I am inordinately proud of all my family.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Children, Day's Bay, Family, Maritime. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to December 29, 2015 … a family outing

  1. There is nothing more heartwarming than enjoying one’s family.

Leave a Reply

