December 23, 2015 … low cloud in high places

I hate leaving photographic challenges incomplete.

Panorama

My latest attempt at the panorama from Brooklyn

A few days ago, I attempted a high-resolution panorama from Brooklyn Hill and was thwarted by the wind. The camera needs to be absolutely still for the method to work, and the wind-induced vibration just killed it. Yesterday I tried again. Though the wind was less, it still didn’t yield the results I hoped for. I shall try again soon. The ship in port is the Explorer of the Seas.

South

Looking South from Brooklyn

Swinging around to the South, I liked the swirling clouds rushing out to sea.

Mt Vic

Across the slopes of Mt Victoria

Going down the hill, I went through the Brooklyn shops onto Washington Avenue and down Dorking Road and found a place that offered a new viewpoint across the harbour. The Kaiarahi was coming into the gap behind St Gerard’s monastery.

Basin Reserve

Basin reserve, the home of first class cricket in Wellington

From the same spot, looking to the North East, I saw that grounds staff at the Basin Reserve preparing the pitch for upcoming first-class matches. If you enlarge the image you will see the roller on the pitch.

I shall get this panorama eventually.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Landscapes, Light, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to December 23, 2015 … low cloud in high places

  1. dennisw77009 says:

    I spent much of my first 10 tears of life in Brooklyn…Ohio, USA, that is.

Leave a Reply

