December 21, 2015 … back to basics

I had a grand plan.

Downtown

Downtown from uptown.

It didn’t work. I went to the top of Brooklyn hill where the wind turbine stood until it was removed. Its replacement is not due until March next year. I planned to make eight images for a grand panorama of the city and harbour, using the high-resolution feature in my Olympus camera. This makes eight exposures in quick succession and then merges them to give a single high-resolution image of around 40 megapixels. Eight of those results in a single panorama of about 2.5 GB. Unfortunately the technique requires that the camera and scene be perfectly still throughout the eight exposure sequence. Though I was using a heavy tripod, the steady breeze (or howling wind, if you prefer) vibrated the camera enough to render the images useless. I had to go back to the simple methods. The cruise liner, Celebrity Solstice made an impressive addition to the city’s larger buildings.

Ferry

Inbound

Away to the south the Strait Feronia was arriving from Picton across a hazy blue sea.

Tree

Where is the spirit of Christmas?

Down in the city, Midland Park was all but deserted and I liked the contrast between the Christmas Tree and the towers of power in the background. It is unfair of me to imagine Ebenezer Scrooge up there behind those glass curtains, asking “Are there no workhouses?”.

Another day closer.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Architecture, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

