December 20, 2015 … from a high point

My images today are a somewhat random collection.

Viewpoint

Looking down on the city from on high. The view of the charter boat “Sweet Georgia” is through Ballance St.

All were taken high above Wellington on Te Ahumairangi Hill. The views of the inner city from up there are clean and crisp and I enjoy these aspects of our city.

Ferry

Looking through Ballance St again the ferry from Days Bay is arriving at the city terminal.

With a long lens, the camera needs swing just a few degrees left or right to offer a completely different perspective on Wellington.

Tui

The tui has a long nectar seeking tongue that gets into the deepest flowers

There was a  lot of birdsong where I was standing and soon several tuis overcame their wariness to resume their gathering of nectar from the flax blossoms.

Nanchang

I wish I could replicate the growl of this engine as it circled overhead

Then another bird came into view. This time it was the growl of a 285 hp radial engine that caught my attention. The Chinese Nanchang CJ-6A is much enjoyed by warbird enthusiasts around the world. This one was circling in what I imagine was a holding pattern because at Wellington Airport, I believe that general aviation takes second place to the scheduled commercial services. After a stream of Airbus and ATR aircraft, the Nanchang (appropriately registered ZK-MAO) growled off across the harbour to join the approach to the South.

Oriental Bay

Oriental Bay across the harbour

As I drove down the winding roads towards the city another viewpoint opened up and I couldn’t resist one last view across the harbour to Oriental Bay. That nice sandy beach (shipped across the strait from Golden  Bay) is ready for a summer that has yet to arrive in any meaningful way.  I live in hope.

That’s all for now.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Aviation, Landscapes, Maritime, Te Ahumairangi, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

