December 15, 2015 … through other eyes

It’s fun having a teenage granddaughter to visit.

Guinea pig.

Guinea pig at Staglands

The last time I took Grace to Staglands was early in 2005. She had few memories of that earlier visit, but seemed to enjoy this trip just as she did last time. Her pleasure in encountering the various animals helped me to see things anew too. The large Clydesdale horse, the fallow deer, the goats, the rabbits, the highland cattle and the guinea pigs were all of interest.

bird

This bird is either building a nest or needs a shave

The aviaries contained various birds, not all of which I recognised. This one seemed to be engaged in nest-building.

Abseil

Window cleaning the hard way

From there, we went into Wellington where Grace enjoyed exploring the “Op-shop scene”. It soon became clear that this was something for which she didn’t need me, so we arranged to meet later at the bucket fountain and parted company. I wandered shooting random items of interest, including these guys dangling over the edge of a building cleaning windows.

Art

Performance art

During my free time, I sat in the Cuba Mall area and watch a trio of young people engaged in some sort of performance art. It was a combination of dance, song and poetry. They progressed down the mall in exaggerated slow and graceful motion, singing very melodically as they went. Every so often they would stop and the young men would recite some lines involving Wellington and its environmental renewal. I am not really sure what they were achieving. No collections were taken, and their message was not entirely clear, but they were very accomplished and a pleasure to watch. If anyone recognizes them, please put them in touch with me, and I can send them some images.

And that’s another day done.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Animals, Architecture, Art, Family, Staglands, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

