December 14, 2015 … racing towards the wall

We are enjoying a fine interlude at present.

Pukeahu

The Columns representing the red heart of Australia were actually sourced from India but they are impressive anyway.

I am glad, because I wanted my granddaughter Grace to have a better opinion of the city of her birth than the first few days might have given. I went into the city and found myself at the top end of Taranaki Street, near the Pukeahu war memorials. The Australian memorial gift to New Zealand consists of fifteen columns of red sandstone, representing the red centre of Australia, left behind by her sons who went off to war. When I got there, two very fit young exponents of parkour were leaping about, clambering up the columns like Spiderman on speed. I reflected that anyone offering a similar disrespect to one of the memorials in Washington DC would be summarily dealt with as such places are treated with the utmost respect and reverence. Here, no one batted an eye, and I imagined some of the old heroes of Gallipoli watching on with amusement, and perhaps admiration.  “This is the kind of freedom we died for” was what I imagined.

Dancers

I am guessing that the group participated vigorously in the parade, but were having fun even on the walk back to their studio.

On my way back to the car, a strange procession of young people were traipsing up Taranaki Street. These were students of a nearby dance studio who had just participated in the city’s annual Santa Parade.

Eastern side

Christmas lights in Lower Hutt

In the evening, Mary had the idea to take Grace to a neighbourhood on the Eastern side of the valley that was renowned for its adoption of the Christmas lights phenomenon. To our disappointment, it seems that the area has given up on the tradition, except for one house.

Lights

This is a tiny fragment of the display

There was another house near the hospital whose owner always puts on an amazing show, and charges a $2 entry fee as fundraising for the surf lifesaving people if I recall correctly.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Architecture, Art, Light, Lower Hutt, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

