December 12, 2015 … capital meandering

Lunch always provides opportunities for images.

Beehive

From the law school to the Parliamentary office building (the Beehive) is just a short walk

I don’t take pictures of the food, you understand, but arriving early and wandering about afterwards gives me time in which to make pictures. Of course, the fact that it’s lunch time automatically means that the light is less than ideal. I started around the law school, known to many as the Old Government Building. As a law school, it is ideally placed, with the District Court, the High Court and the Supreme Court all within 100 metres, and parliament across the road. It is housed in a very handsome building with a lot of history.

Sea Princess

Sea Princess in Wellington on a grey day

As is my habit, I  was early, so I walked around the block, and looked down Aotea Quay to where the Sea Princess was berthed. The drizzle seemed to discourage many of its passengers from the walk along the Quay to the city.

Station

Christmas wrapping

Around the corner into Bunny street, and just across the road is our Christmas wrapped railway station. I had a congenial lunch with my friend and then wandered onwards.

Harbour

The harbour from the lookout on Onslow Rd

My randomizing instinct took me up Onslow Road to Khandallah where there is a lookout offering a splendid view over the harbour. This resulted in a misty weather panorama.

Inner harbour

Inner Harbour from Amritsar St. The ships are the container ship, Sri Lanka, the bulk carrier, Emilie Bulker, and the cruise liner, Sea Princess

When I first moved to Wellington in the late sixties, I had a flat in Amritsar Street for a few months, so I indulged the nostalgia and drove down it until I came to yet another fine view over the inner harbour.  In the left foreground is the upper part of the vast rambling complex that was the Wellington home and architectural office of the late Sir Ian Athfield.

That’s it for today.

 

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, harbour, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

