December 10, 2015 … lunch in the city

A group of former colleagues, most of who are now qualified to be described as “old friends” met for lunch.

MSC Carla 3

MSC Carla 3 is a bulky looking vessel;

Through the salt-stained glass of the bus window, I caught this view of of the container ship MSC Carla 3 turning towards her berth having just arrived from Lyttelton. Close behind her is the Bluebridge ferry, Straitsman inbound from Picton, and cutting across her bows from the left is the tiny Days Bay ferry.

Explorer of the Seas

I am not sure if they are Christmas bells, I can hear, or the merry sound of cash registers in the city.

As we got closer to the city the huge white bulk of the Explorer of the Seas came into view. She has 138,000 gross Tonnes, and carries over 4,000 passengers and a crew of 1,180. If I had my choice of ships on which to sail, the MSC Carla 3 would win hands down. It is the stuff of screaming nightmares to be cooped up with 4,000 of my best friends.

Lombard

To Lombard St

Early as usual for lunch, I wandered around lower Cuba St, and noticed the interesting textures in the alley from there through to Lombard Street.

Columbia

Grandeur restored

The Columbia Private Apartment building has been prominent in lower Cuba Street for as long as I remember, though it went through some scruffy phases. Judging by the grille at the front door, it has gone up in the world in recent times. Our lunch was just up the road at the restaurant run by Weltec as a training establishment for those seeking a career in the hospitality industry. The food was excellent, and the company as enjoyable as ever.

That’s enough for now.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Maritime, Uncategorized, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

