December 9, 2015 … random and diverse events

I feel like a one man flash mob.

Shortbread

Fresh shortbread

With no coherent design or purpose, I was popping up here there and everywhere. First, it was at home where Mary was making a batch of shortbread for a function at her place of work. Double torture! I smelled the aroma of baking but knew it was not for me.  Ah well, at least I got a picture of them.

Tui

Tui in the flax – quite unafraid

As I went out of the door to look for an image, a tui flew into the flax bush near the door and ignoring presence, began probing the flax flowers for their nectar. It seems that the craving for nectar overcomes their normal caution.

Moth

Large moth … probably a Porina Puriri moth

When Mary came home from her work with the local school, she brought with her a very large moth which I believe to be the porina moth (Wiseana cervinata). female puriri moth  (Aenetus virescens). Like most moths it has a very short life-span, and the tattered state of its wings suggested it was near the end of its time.

J.Vee

Coming home in the dark

In the evening, it was the final camera club night of the year with prizes awarded and a shared supper, all very congenial. Since we are nearing the solstice, the light lingers, so after the club rooms were locked and dark, I went down to the harbour at Seaview where I watched the little fishing boat, J.Vee returning up the glittering pathway of the Hutt River estuary to its mooring.

Last light

Last light

A little further along Port Road, there was a nice view towards the city with the dark silhouette of Matiu/Somes Island outlined against the lights of Wellington.

That will be enough for now.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in harbour, Landscapes, Light, Maritime, Matiu/Somes Island, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to December 9, 2015 … random and diverse events

  1. nzvideos says:

    They are all rather enjoyable, but I especially like ‘Coming home in the dark’. Thank you Brian.

Leave a Reply

