December 4, 2015 … I like not this news*

… bring me some other news!*

Torea

Going back for more

I read in the Dominion Post this morning, that Wellington’s summer, far from the sunny promises of a month or two ago, will be characterized by wind and drizzle. It has been thus throughout Spring, and I had hoped for a significant improvement. Yesterday was typical with some heavy rain in the morning, fading to drizzle in the afternoon, and wind persisting throughout the day. Bah! Our house guests moved on so I went out through Wainuiomata to the South Coast. No great inspiration was found, but I reached the beach as the coastal tanker Torea was passing by on its way back to Whangarei on its way to the refinery for another load.

River

Wainuiomata River from the bridge at Holmdale

On the way back through Wainuiomata, the Wainuiomata River at Holmdale was worth a look. Wellington Harbour is on the other side of the hills in the background.

Unilever

Silent evermore – the factory reflected in the administration building

In Petone, I noticed that the old Unilever factory was still and quiet, no steam emitting from its stacks. As I understand it, the factory is now permanently closed, and it will be interesting to see what becomes of the site. I saw a reflection in a window, and inspired by a similar shot by my friend and fellow club member, Helen Westerbeke, tried to catch the essence of the place.

Pohutukawa

Someone turned on the Christmas decorations early

 

Applying the 180 degree rule, I was rewarded with an early flowering pohutukawa (Metrosideros excelsa)

The greyness continues

 

*Brian Blessed as King Richard IV in Blackadder Series 1

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Cook Strait, Industrial, Maritime, Rivers, South Coast, Wainuiomata, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to December 4, 2015 … I like not this news*

  1. Ellen says:

    Wainuiomata; what is that flurry of shark fins in the river? They don’t look like a natural feature.

Leave a Reply

