December 2, 2015 … my roof’s got a hole in it and I might drown*

Despite my hopes to the contrary, the rain did indeed come down.

Cabbage tree

Cabbage tree (Cordyline australis) makes a nice showing

Steady grey drizzle, all day. From my front door, there is normally a view towards Point Howard, but today the greyness obscured everything beyond the neighbour’s cabbage tree. I think almost every cabbage tree in the country is in magnificent bloom at present.

ceiling

Wellington Railway Station ceiling

In the city I was inside the central railway station, and looked up in the entry hall. With a wide-angle lens, and the camera lying on its back in a conveniently marked central spot on the floor, I tried to capture the splendour of the ceiling detail. This required standing guard over the camera while crouching low to stay out of its field of view. This had the added advantage that the passing commuters were so worried by the odd behaviour that they stayed well clear of me and the camera.

Party

The office party on the harbour … in the rain

In the afternoon, I had to deliver granddaughter Maggie to her cheer-leading practice, so had a look around Seaview for additional opportunities. The fishing boat “Daniel” was idling offshore and I suspect that a Christmas charter may not have been lucky in their scheduling of the office party.

Marina

Damp moorings

In the marina, the greyness persisted, though the wind was at least calm.

Grass

Wet grass

At home, I noticed some of the grasses that I had photographed a week or so ago was drooping even further under the burden of the rain. If you look closely in the dark areas, you can see the rain falling.

That’s all for now.

* “Don’t let the rain come down” by Ersel Hickey and Ed E. Miller

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, flowers, Maritime, Railway, Seaview, Trees, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to December 2, 2015 … my roof’s got a hole in it and I might drown*

  1. Peter C says:

    I’m always taking photos of ceilings too – mostly cathedral ceilings, rather than railway stations – and have been known to inadvertently include myself in the odd one!

Leave a Reply

