November 28, 2015 … wild and woolly weather

We arrived back from Queenstown on Thursday into the teeth of a rising Northerly gale.

Oriental bay

Oriental Bay in a gale

Yesterday’s winds peaked at about 133 km/h.  In Oriental Bay, there was an odd combination of grey cloud, green water and some thin sunlight.

Panorama

A wider view of the harbour. The Navy’s logistics ship, HMNZS Canterbury is tied up at Queens Wharf.

I wondered if I could get away with a multi-shot panorama, as they are remarkably fussy when it comes to getting smooth  transitions between the waves on each of the images. I seem to have got away with it, though you might have to click to see the larger image to be sure.

A320

Second time lucky

I got some lunch at the Kilbirnie shops and ate in the car at the airport end of Lyall Bay. I should have known better than to put my camera down, because I watched an apparently normal approach by a Jetstar A320 turn pear-shaped. A vicious gust rolled it 10 or 15 degrees from horizontal which looked much more terrifying than it sounds. The pilot obviously thought so too as the throttles were slammed open and it executed a very decisive go-round. When it returned for another try about ten minutes later the landing was much less dramatic, but I suspect it was one of those flights where the relieved passengers burst into applause when the wheels touch down.

ZK-RJZ

Fast and straight, and no waiting for the bags.

Smaller planes seemed to suffer less for some reason, and the ATRs and the Q300s came in quite steadily, despite the heavy gusts rocking my car. Then a smaller aircraft still came into view. The Cessna 510 Citation Mustang has the words Robert Jones Holdings Limited on its side so I win no prizes for identifying it as ZK_RJZ, the private business jet of Sir Robert Jones who no longer has to suffer the indignities of safety briefings, cockpit announcements and security checks. It came in fast and steady. Personal business jets are still a rarity in New Zealand.

That’s all today.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Airport, Aviation, Cook Strait, Landscapes, Lyall Bay, Waves, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

