November 27, 2015 … clicking my heels together*

We flew home yesterday.

Lake Hayes

Lake Hayes on its best behaviour, and there was a clear view across the top of Deer Heights Park to Cecil Peak. The mountain slopes to the left is the Northern face of the Remarkable range.

Andrew and Abbey are wonderful hosts, and I miss our grandchildren already, but after a while there is an insistent call summoning us home. Our flight was at 2 pm, so the morning was free. For the first time since we arrived, there was no wind at all. With the aid of Abbey’s little car, I went round to Lake Hayes, to see if my hopes were realised. Lake Hayes has been shot a million times, but when it sets up that mirror, I can’t resist it.

Queenstown

Looking down the Frankton Arm towards Queenstown township at the right, with Kelvin Heights on the left.

In due course, after an airport lunch, we were airborne, looking down the lake towards Queenstown.

Treble Cone

The road to Treble Cone skifield. It is much harder to see in Winter.

We had a chatty cockpit crew and they warned us that there would be a lot of turbulence as we climbed to cruising altitude. I think the persistently winding road below runs from the Cardrona Valley to the Treble Cone skifield.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lake Hawea in the foreground. I have camped on its foreshore, and almost been abducted to an alien spaceship by gangs of sand-flies working in unison. Lake Wanaka is at the back.

It’s fun picking out places you have been by road. The next image is “The Neck” where Lake Hawea is closest to Lake Wanaka. That road along the lakeshore in the foreground, passes over the neck and then clings to the Northern shore of Wanaka until it heads West over the wild road to Haast and the West Coast.

Mountains

Aoraki Mt Cook (Left), Mt Tasman (Right) with the Hochstetter ice flow in front of Mt Tasman.

Before long, our loquacious first officer was back and being informative about the mountains to the left. Aoraki Mt Cook and Mt Tasman were pointed out, as  was the amazing Hochstetter Ice Flow pouring down the mountain towards the Tasman Glacier at a rate of up to 10 metres a day.

Grassmere

Lake Grassmere salt ponds

Nearer to home, we crossed the coast just South of Lake Grassmere which is New Zealand’s principal source of table salt.  I am fascinated by the pink hue of the evaporating pans.

Island bay

Almost home, with Island bay visible from a different angle.

And then, after crossing an obviously wild and  windy Strait it was a bouncing and slightly uncomfortable descent into Wellington. Tapu Teranga Island sitting out there guarding Island bay was a welcome sight.

Normal service should resume tomorrow.

  • a vague reference to the Wizard of Oz
About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Cook Strait, Lakes, Landscapes, Light, Queenstown. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to November 27, 2015 … clicking my heels together*

  1. The pink of the brine pans is caused by a brine shrimp I believe. I love those aerial photographs!

Leave a Reply

