November 25, 2015 … thunder in the gorge

Random wandering was yesterday’s plan.

Quail

Californian Quail

It started at the home of Andrew and Abbey where a strange bird call caught my attention. A Californian Quail was perched on a large transmission insulator which is a feature object in their garden.

Lupins

Lupins in full bloom

On the back road between Arrowtown and Arthur’s Point there were lots of the seasonal displays of lupins.

Valley

Green valley

Closer to Arthur’s Point, there is a nice view down the  green valley towards Queenstown.

Jet

Shotover Jet at full throttle

A little time at the Shotover Jet base is always fun as the huge growling engines of the jet boats bring thunder to the gorge. An added feature yesterday was the strong wind which launched most of the sand on the point into the air and into the passengers waiting for their ride.

Pool

At the pool

In the evening we were babysitting the children while their parents went to a concert. It was swimming lesson night and I liked the texture and reflections on the water.

It was a long day.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Birds, Landscapes, Maritime, mountains, Queenstown. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to November 25, 2015 … thunder in the gorge

  1. really like the pool reflections

Leave a Reply

