November 22, 2015 … a stranger in a strange land

Queenstown was inundated yesterday with people in Lycra.

Arrow

The Arrow River in Arrowtown

It was the running of the annual marathon, and there were over 9,000 participants in the various stages from 10 km, half and full marathons. I am told that 80% of the competitors were from out of town, so the sudden influx of visitors with their companions put a huge strain on everything. The race itself required significant closures of various roads and tracks, so I looked in the other direction for my images. I went to Arrowtown, where the race started, since they had all long since gone South, and went to the Arrow River and Tobin’s Track.

Tobin's

Looking down Tobin’s Track through unremitting greenery towards the Arrow River

In April, the area is ablaze with Autumn colour, but for now, everything is still a luscious green.

flower

Pretty flower that soon becomes a pest

I am unsure what the tree is with the little white flowers, but it seems to release what seems like puffs of snow or cotton wool. The roadsides gutters are full of the white remains.

Matagouri

The mean-spirited matagouri in blossom

Later in the day, Mary persuaded me to come out for a walk with Otis to see another flowering tree she had found, with vicious spikes. I was baffled, but my Internet friends soon enlightened me. Any Southerner is probably familiar with the matagouri (Discaria toumatou) or “Wild Irishman”. It is reputedly the only native plant with thorns. And what thorns they are.

Otis

Otis with all the joy that a five year old boy has on a wild ride down a gravel track

This bush was growing on a popular path leading from Lake Hayes Estate towards the lake itself. Otis was scooting along with us on his bicycle, and he really enjoyed the hairy downhill ride from the shrubs back to the valley floor.

And that is enough for this edition.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Arrowtown, Children, Family, Queenstown. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to November 22, 2015 … a stranger in a strange land

  1. dennisw77009 says:

    Exodus 2:22, “And she bore him a son, and he called his name Gershom: for he said, I have been a stranger in a strange land.

  2. Did you wave at DPF as he ran past?

  3. Cliff says:

    I believe that the tree with the white flowers is a hawthorn, isn’t it?

  4. I also like the first and second one very much, reminds me of times we spent down that way, when I was much younger. Thanks for the memories. Sally.

Leave a Reply

