November 21, 2015 … Southern colours

Despite the forecast, it was a fantastic morning for photographs.

Lake Hayes

Looking across Lake Hayes to the Remarkables

The water on Lake Hayes was almost still, and there were low clouds drifting around the mountains.  And as the morning progressed, the water acquired that viscous oily look rather than a chop.

Scaup

Papango or New Zealand Scaup

Waterfowl were plentiful, especially the New Zealand scaup, or papango. These are diving ducks so as often as not, I caught nothing but tail feathers as they dived.

Yellow

Another scaup on a lovely yellow background

Increasingly, as the water settled,  the reflections of bright yellow broom on the hills around the lake added colour to the images.

Coot

Australian Coot

Another prolific inhabitant of the lake is the Australian Coot. They are not particularly attractive birds ,  but they were plentiful.

Scaup (3)

Male and female scaup on a sea of green

The colours on the lake were becoming more magical as the waves flattened out, and another pair of scaup obliged by swimming into this lovely green patch.

Ruins

Thurlby Domain ruins

From there I went along Speargrass Flats Rd to Thurlby Domain. I have visited there before but each day and each set of lighting conditions are different. The old buildings are not getting any younger, but the owners seem to have stabilised the ruins.

Ruins

Well preserved ruins

If you are in the region and have a taste for history and gracious gardens, Thurlby Domain is well worth a visit. It is frequently used as a wedding venue.

That’s all for today.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Birds, Lakes, Landscapes, Queenstown. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to November 21, 2015 … Southern colours

  1. brent says:

    very nice images its a fantastic place

  2. gcberger says:

    Brian, That first photo, the one of Looking Across Lake Hsyes, was gorgeous. I expand your photos to the max on the 27″ iMac, and this one truly is a keeper. Nice!
    Cheers, George

  3. I too agree that the picture of Lake Hayes is wonderful. I have a framed picture of the lake that was given to me when I left NZ, on our dining room wall, but it shows more of the hills, with sheep on them. Just love it too. Thanks, Sally.l

Leave a Reply

