November 17, 2015 … third time lucky

I am easily discouraged.

Oriental Bay

I stopped to admire the view, nothing to do with how steep the track is (ha!) The view windows between the trees severely limit what you can see, but still water and reflections always appeal to me. Oriental Bay from Te Ahumairangi

On two previous occasions I have trudged up the tracks of Te Ahumairangi Hill, looking for the site of the falcons’ nest. On both occasions I got some interesting landscapes but no falcons. The entrance to the correct track has a sign warning that the track is steep. Given that I struggled with the tracks that had no such warning, this filled me with trepidation, but slow and steady with frequent pauses “to admire the unfolding view” was the recipe. I refused to be discouraged this time.

Quarry

The old quarry was certain proof that I had followed the wrong path.

My informant neglected to mention that, when approaching the site from below, there are forks in the track. Naturally I took the wrong one and began to suspect only when the track took a downhill turn and delivered me to the old quarry and the mysterious tunnel. Heights, confined spaces and cucumber all scare the heck out of me so I took a shot and retraced my steps.

Warning

This is to be taken seriously. Some outraged citizens wanted the birds removed to a wild place outside the city. Every city needs more falcons.

It is unfair that, having made a mistake I should have to climb a hill I didn’t want to come down in the first place, but eventually I got to the point where I made the wrong turn, and set out on the other option. Then there was a very large fallen pine tree blocking the path. It has obviously been there for some time since there is a makeshift track around the great root ball of the tree. This required a bit of clambering, heaving and butt-sliding to get to the other side. For someone with my defective sense of balance and hands full with my Canon 7D and the 100-400 zoom lens, this was a challenge. Eventually I got to the other side, but my informant had not mentioned this obstacle, so I was increasingly convinced I was on the wrong path, yet again. And then I came to the sign.

Karearea

The end result of all my three attempts to find them. This is not a friendly look. It’s a threat, a promise, if you come this way I shall bounce right on your head (and it did).

They weren’t kidding. They come fast and low and unless they are screaming their outrage, you really don’t hear them coming. The New Zealand falcon is not as fast as the peregrine falcon but is still capable of speeds in excess of 200 km/h and it aims for your head. I kept low and moved as slowly as possible. As one disappeared, its partner was sneaking in from behind. There are tricks and techniques for getting close used by experienced birders, but from my perspective, I lacked those skills. I was also aware that too much aggravation could provoke the birds to abandon their nest and the fledglings, so I got a couple of shots for the record, and then retreated, but not without receiving a few solid belts on the head. I am glad I wore a hat.

Fountain

Tanya Ashken’s “The Albatross” … a pleasant background to a perfect cup of coffee.

Slipping and sliding on the gravel and leaf mould that covered the steep track I got back to the car and found that my knees were wobbling. Coffee was called for so I had a very fine long black at Kaffe Eis’s stall in Frank Kitts Park by the waterfront. This allowed me to grab yet another shot of Tanya Ashken’s iconic sculpture/fountain.  If she had a dollar for every photograph made of her work she would be fabulously wealthy.

It was a satisfying day.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Adventure, adversity, Art, Birds, Landscapes, Reflections, Te Ahumairangi, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to November 17, 2015 … third time lucky

  1. I do like that falcon shot and giggled reading your account. Also like your viewpoint of the “found art” 🙂

Leave a Reply

