November 15, 2015 … on the South side

For some reason, when I am in doubt, I go South.

Ragwort

Weeds they may be, but they can be spectacular en masse

This is a mixed blessing. A friend said to me the other day that my images provided a great regional resource, and that there were few places I hadn’t been. There is a grain of truth in that, especially in respect of Wellington’s Southern suburbs.  Nevertheless, it is still a surprise and delight to see something I haven’t noticed before. In this case there were two very large patches of purple ragwort. It is a pest and an invasive weed, but where there are great patches of it, the effect can be striking. These two infestations were on the steep slopes on the Western side of Happy Valley Rd, near the Owhiro Bay School.

Tricolor

Nous pleurons avec la France

At Island bay, one of the fishing fleet was flying the Tricolor in solidarity with the people of France after yesterday’s act of barbarism. Flags tend to get tangled in brisk winds such as ours and this one was wrapped around its halyard.

Clouds

Voyaging under a cloudy sky

In the far distance, the Bluebridge ferry Strait Feronia was making its way across the horizon towards Wellington under an interesting set of clouds.

Seeds

Shimmering seeds

At home as I was lugging my kit up the steps form the garage to the house I noted a weed in the garden. I am pretty adept at not noticing weeds, but this one was different. It had those shimmering little seeds and Mary and I suspect it is probably a survivor from the birdseed that she scatters for the birds.

That’s all today.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Cook Strait, flowers, Island Bay, Landscapes, Maritime, South Coast, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

