November 13, 2015 … and Heaven in a wild flower*

I got lazy yesterday.

Forget-me-not

Chatham Island forget-me-not

My grandson, Cooper was unwell so he spent much of the afternoon dozing and playing instead of being at school. Then by the time Mary was home, the weather outside was unappealing and I decided to do some still life. Outside the house, against the Southern wall, there are some Chatham Island forget-me-nots. I plucked a small cluster  and then held it in one of my old modelling clamps against a black background.  Eight images, each focused on a different part of the flower were then blended to produce a single image that is sharp from front to back. I confess that, of today’s shots, this is the nearest to a wild flower.

Rose (1)

“A rose by any other name, still perfumes all the air” … I wish I could find the source of that misquote of the bard … I think it is from one of the many adaptations of “Romeo and Juliet”

One of Mary’s tennis friends had given her a bunch of roses from her garden. By yesterday they were coming to the end of their life, but one orange coloured bloom was holding its shape. A spritz from my trusty water bottle added some interest and off I went. The technique was as described above.

Rose (2)

Perhaps I overdid the atomizer

I kept rehearsing, moving closer each time.

Rose (3)

Such casual draping of a delicate textile produces such beauty

My last shot was just in time, as petals began to fall off. Though I have a reasonably powerful, but aging Apple Macbook, the processing required for the focus stacking is astonishing and the auto-blend operation can take up to 20 minutes depending on how many images are to be blended.

I hope to do more today

*Auguries of Innocence by William Blake

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

