November 12, 2015 … through a glass darkly*

Heavy mist wreathed the city again.

Aro Valley

I am sure it is a much loved family home, but I prefer a wider view from my windows

My picture search took me to the Aro Valley and some of the narrow winding side streets which give views down into the shaded places. Aro Valley is a quirky corner of Wellington, a place with a Bohemian reputation. Regardless of lifestyle choices, it would never be on my list of preferred suburbs because it is so deep in the hills that the houses are in shade for most of the day.

House

“This ole house once rang with laughter, this ole house heard many shouts”**

Nevertheless there are some interesting fragments of Wellington’s working-class history in here that deserve to be preserved. Some however, would need a very large investment to restore their former glory. The almost paint-less example here has a front door with no stairs, though it does seem to have been re-roofed in living memory.

Turbine

Whoosh … whoosh … whoosh. The blades could be heard long before the cloud thinned enough for them to be seen.

Against all logic, I went uphill from there, perhaps in the hope of a view above the clouds. Alas, it was thicker up there, and the soon-to-be-replaced wind turbine’s blades were swishing mostly unseen in the murk. Now and then the mist would tin out and I grabbed a shot.

Straitsman

Straitsman in the mist … thank heavens for radar

Down on the South Coast at Owhiro Bay, the mist spread out into the strait and  the ghostly pale outline of the Straitsman moved silently in the direction of Picton.

More clarity will be sought tomorrow.

 

  • 1 Cor 13
  • ** This Ole House, by Stuart Hamblen
About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Architecture, Aro Valley, Cook Strait, Landscapes, Light, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

