November 11, 2015 … consolation prize

For the second time I trudged up the steep tracks of Te Ahumairangi in a  fruitless search for the New Zealand falcon.

Tradescantia

This plant has some regrettable common names of which the least offensive is Wandering Willie. It’s sale is banned in New Zealand because of its invasive nature. Nevertheless, it is pretty in the right light.

I saw one in the far distance, but I obviously followed the wrong track. Nevertheless, it was a delightful walk, despite the mean inclines which encouraged me to turn frequently to admire the view unfolding below. And close at hand, nature put on quite a show. Even the Tradescantia fluminensis weeds were attractive.

Butterfly

Yellow Admiral on another invasive weed.

There were birds and butterflies, bees and flowers. Since this is the national week for butterfly survey, I include this Yellow Admiral (Vanessa itea) sitting on a purple ragwort flower.

Frigate

HMNZS Te Kaha waiting for her companion

I mentioned the unfolding view. Down in the harbour, the frigate HMNZS Te Kaha (F77) was sitting patiently while HMNZS Wellington (P55) was flying the red refuelling pennant as she took on oil near the ferry terminal. Not often we get to units of the Royal New Zealand Navy in port.

Architecture (1)

Cross the bush on the lower slopes to the houses on Bolton St, and beyond to the tower blocks on The Terrace

There are those who despise all modern architecture preferring to cling on to the perceived superiority of ages past, no matter that the buildings are unsafe and inefficient. It reminds of W.S. Gilbert’s “I’ve got a Little List” –  Then the idiot who praises, with enthusiastic tone, All centuries but this, and every country but his own … they’ll none of ’em be missed!  I like modern architecture unashamedly and I love the colour and contrasting textures of a cityscape.

Architecture (2)

A wide mixture of architectural eras looking South towards Newtown

There are zones within the city that have a transitional quality but I still enjoy the variety as we take the long view.

Architecture (3)

A concentration of black and white cladding on the Terrace

To be clear, I don’t dislike the old buildings, though I am glad I no longer have to work in them  I just refuse to join in the fashionable distaste for glass and concrete. I particularly enjoy the proximity these buildings with a predominance of black and white on the Northern end of the Terrace.

 

Houses

Tinakori Village

In case anyone is hankering for yesteryear, there remains plenty of it in Wellington and this collection of houses on Tinakori Rd is a fine example. I particularly love the little building with the splendid arched window towards the right and desperately hope it serves as an artist’s studio.

No falcons, but I am content.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Architecture, Birds, Butterflies, flowers, harbour, insects, Maritime, Military, Newtown, Plant life, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

