November 10, 2015 … images thick and fast

It was a thick and fast kind of day.

Fog

Morning traffic heading into the mist towards Wellington. This is from the Horokiwi Rd

There was thick fog in Wellington and fast water in the Hutt River. The fog seemed to have a severe impact on city bound traffic, and when I got to the city I saw lots of opportunities with no chance of parking anywhere near the viewpoint I wanted. Being inherently lazy, I gave up on the nice shots I saw but didn’t make. Instead, I drove back to Horokiwi, and looked back towards the city.

West

Looking West from Horokiwi

There was little or no fog in the Hutt Valley so I went on up the side roads and narrow lanes of Horokiwi. There was some heavy fog or cloud to the West.

rocks

Turbulent water over the rocks below the weir

In the afternoon, in reasonable sunshine I went to the weir in the Hutt River near Silverstream. The last time I was there the river was in full flood and the thick brown water was thundering over the pipe. Yesterday, the flow was still fast and turbulent over the rocks but the water was much clearer.

Weir

Until I met some engineers yesterday, I thought the upstream structure was a weir. It turns out that it is simply a sewer pipe that has become increasingly exposed as the river bed gets scoured out by successive floods. Either way, it still offers some interesting effects.

I sat on a downstream rock and, with the aid of my trusty ND filter got what I think is a nice shot upstream.

Flow

This exposure of just 1.8 seconds produces an interesting view of the flow

And then in keeping with the old dictum that, to the man with a hammer, everything looks like a nail, used the ND filter again.

And that will suffice for the day.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Hutt River, Landscapes, Rivers, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

