November 7, 2015 … avoiding the crowds

Crowds are not my favourite thing.

Takarau

In the Takarau Gorge

Thus, when it came to going into town to join the throng celebrating the triumphant parade of the victorious All Blacks and/or the royal visit by the Prince of Wales and the Duchess of Cornwall, I chose to go elsewhere. The day was near to perfect, pleasantly warm with little or no wind and clear skies. I chose to drive along the Takarau Gorge towards Makara. The Gorge is still recovering from the flooding back in May, and many of the roadside wire fences are still festooned with rotting weed draped there by the racing torrent. It’s a narrow road and the few places where parking is possible require a good walk to places that give the best views. I am suitably cautious and get on the other side of the barrier if a car approaches.

West Wind

Getting close to West Wind

Up at the West Wind wind farm, I took a slow shot of the blades spinning. Because the breeze was so light, the turbines were really just drifting around.

Mill Creek

The Mill Creek facility

At the crest of the hill, the view to the North takes in the newer “Mill Creek” wind farm where the 26 turbines add almost 60 megawatts to the national grid. If you look closely at the furthest hills, you will see that they are the Tararuas with some residual snow still gleaming.

Turbines

More of the West Wind turbines

Behind me, 19 of the  Northern-most turbines of the West Wind’s 62 turbine wind farmer were ticking over, except for the one that was undergoing maintenance.

Similar weather today, but more wind.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Landscapes, Machinery, Makara, Rivers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to November 7, 2015 … avoiding the crowds

  1. Can relate to you about crowds!

Leave a Reply

