November 4, 2015 … seek the solace of the sea

When I am photographically lost, I tend to seek the sea.

Aratere

Aratere starts to apply power as she leaves the entrance to Wellington Harbour

Yesterday I was struggling a bit so ended up in the familiar haunts, in this case, Palmer Head. I had seen the Aratere leaving her berth as I came through Oriental Bay so I thought if I ge there before her, and the sea conditions are interesting, I might have something. Sadly the sea was not cooperating, but I liked the drama of the contrast between the white of the ship and the dark green  shades of the Eastern Hills.

Planes

Successive planes

Coming back through Evans Bay I liked the layered effect of the Eastern Hills across the harbour. Most Wellingtonians refer to those hills as the Orongorongo hills, but as far as I have ever been able to establish that is not an officially gazetted name. Whatever they are called, I love them in sunshine or in mist.

Harbour

Wellington Harbour from the Horokiwi Quarry

Nearing the Hutt Valley, I caught a glimpse in my rear view mirror of an interesting light on the far side of the harbour. I diverted up the hill at Horokiwi and parked near the quarry entrance, and walked back to where I had a clear view to the South. A band of sun-streaked water lined the harbour entrance and Evans Bay on either side of the Miramar Peninsula. If you click to enlarge, have a look at the end of the airport runway, just to the right of the peninsula and you will see the Bluebridge ferry, Strait Feronia passing offshore from Lyall Bay.

That’s the day.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Airport, Cook Strait, harbour, Horokiwi, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

