October 26, 2015 … a sudden and unexpected burst of summer

It’s a long weekend in New Zealand.

Maggie

Our sunshine girl sets out the rolls to prove before baking. The form of each roll was her choice.

On the fourth Monday in October, we observe Labour Day. As a statutory paid holiday, it celebrates the struggle 175 years ago, for a universal eight-hour working day, though many still don’t have that protection. It also tends to mark the return of the golden weather. And so it has been this weekend. However our weekend began with our own little ray of sunshine – granddaughter Maggie who will soon be 11 years old, came for a sleepover. Yesterday, with guidance form her grandmother she made bread rolls to accompany a picnic lunch planned for later in the day.

Rolls

The finished product

In due course, after the rolls had been allowed to prove for the required time, they were committed to the oven, and duly emerged as small masterpieces.

Oak

In the shade of a handsome oak

We went to the Catchpool Valley in the Rimutaka Forest Park and laid claim to a suitable picnic spot in the shade of a nice oak tree.

barbecue

A view across one of the many picnic spots … the covered structure to the left is a barbecue

For most, the Catchpool Valley is the starting point for much longer walks heading towards the Orongorongo river, but the area surrounding the car parks are widely enjoyed as a picnic area and camping ground. I am pleased to see the provision of stainless steel gas-fired barbecues in the park. They are everywhere in the parks around many Australian cities, and usually free. Here, perhaps because the hot plate is gas-fired and not electric, they are coin-operated.

Kereru

Nervous but lazy

Anthony and Sarah took the kids to a lesser known swimming hole through a long disused trail through the bush and some of them braved the chilly water. I was not one of them. It is easy to be fooled by the bright blue skies into thinking this is really summer. As I made my way back through the bush, I encountered a kereru which looked nervous but was way too lazy to interrupt its siesta unless real danger was imminent.

May the sunny days continue, preferably without the wind.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Children, Family, Rimutaka Forest park, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to October 26, 2015 … a sudden and unexpected burst of summer

  1. John Titchener says:

    I love your description: “Rimutaka Forest ark”. What a perfect way to describe such places!!!

Leave a Reply

