October 25, 2015 … at the water’s edge

One of the great losses in life, is free access to the ports of New Zealand.

Strait Feronia

Strait Feronia in Wellington , ready to load for its next trip to Picton

I know that today the ports are subject to the same threats as airports. However, as a youngster at school, I recall wandering along the wharves in the Port of Auckland,  beside ships unloading general cargo in those distant pre-containerisation days. There were no safety officers back then to be horrified at the idea of a school lid wandering among swinging loads, net slings full of  chilled mutton carcasses, pallets laden with butter, inbound sacks full of mystery. There were the rough but kind-hearted watersiders who would “accidentally” put their hook into a sack of peanuts and reach in to give me a handful of nuts to munch on as I explored. There are very few spots from which to get close to working ships these days. Yesterday I found myself near the new ferry Strait Feronia. She is a handsome beast, of her kind.

Diver

Diver with underwater camera

The two trucks near her bow belonged to a commercial diving company, and from what I could see the divers were engaged in some problem solving near the foremost of her three bow thrusters.  I watched the diver drop into the water from the wharf, then  leave a trail of bubbles across to the thruster. From his hand-held camera he seemed to be transmitting live images back to his workmates by way of a large screen in the truck.  After a while, he swam back with the camera in front of him.

Skidder

Random items ready to cross the strait

Being a Ro-Ro ferry, most of her cargo consists of trucks which might contain almost anything. Among the trucks lined up for the next journey South was a low loader carrying a very solid-looking rubber-tyred log skidder, The next truck over had a wide-load tracked digger, but mostly the trucks were canvas-sided B-train rigs carrying wh knows what.

Krishna

In sunny weather the bean bags on the grass outside the bars are very popular. The passing Hare Krishna troupe didn’t seem to attract much attention

From there I went along to the lagoon at Frank Kitts Park and since the weather was a brilliant  warm day, the bars and cafes were in full swing. A group of Hare Krishna devotees came through the crowds dancing, twirling, chanting drumming, and the crowd took scarcely any notice.

That’s all for now

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Industrial, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to October 25, 2015 … at the water’s edge

  1. nzvideos says:

    Hare Krishna devotees? I haven’t seen them for many years. They were a common feature at the San Francisco airport in the ’70s. Thanks for the memory of watching ships load and unload. We use to do that at Juneau in the ’60s. One did many wanderings and “nosy” activities pre-TV.
    BTW, I can upon a very interesting photo site at: thepanoawards.com – worth a visit. Thanks Brian.

  2. John Titchener says:

    Yes, I remember it well. As High School boys, my mates and I used to often spend a Sunday afternoon wandering round the wharves at the Port of Napier, and even going onto the ships! I remember climbing up to the crow’s nest on the mast of a wartime-vintage Liberty ship. How many laws would that have broken in doing that, these days?!

Leave a Reply

