October 21, 2015 … in fruitless search of a fearsome bird

Te Ahumairangi Hill is a place I should visit more often.

Kaka

The kaka has a distinctive silhouette

Yesterday, I went there looking for a nesting pair of New Zealand falcons (karearea) which were reportedly defending their nest site by swooping on passing pedestrians. A swooping falcon with claws outstretched is something to be treated with caution. They are among the fastest birds on earth, and handlers of captive birds usually wear heavy gauntlets to prevent injury. I was in the area of the reported attacks and saw a large bird moving quickly towards me. In other circumstances I would be delighted to see a lowland parrot in the wild, bit I wanted a falcon. It was too dark to catch its normally irridescent plumage, but the profile of the kaka is unmistakable.

Stadium

Through the forest to a view of the Westpac Stadium and the harbour

Despite wandering the steep tracks for about an hour, I saw no falcon. I shall try on another day. Just being up on the hill offers some consolation, offering as it does, many interesting views down onto the city, though it is sometimes an effort to get into a position that offers a clear view of a particular scene.

Mast

Transmission mast on Mt Kaukau

Falcon-less, I wheezed my way back up the hill to the ridgeline track and caught a view of the mast on Mt Kaukau.

North

View to the North

Once back on the ridgeline, it was but a short walk back to the car, and from the car park there was a lovely view back up the harbour to the Hutt valley.

That will do for now.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Birds, Landscapes, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

